The NAB AFL Draft sees the future stars of the game fulfil their dreams of becoming professional AFL footballers as they are selected by AFL clubs.

The NAB AFL Draft is an annual event whereby club recruiters and official nominate young players to join their club. There is high interest in the draft prospects, with hopeful fans eager to find out how their team will shape up the following year.

To be eligible for the NAB AFL Draft, footballers must be 18 years of age in the year that they are picked up by a club.

NAB award the #1 Draft Pick each year with a $10,000 NAB Investment Portfolio, along with a financial planner to assist them with the development of a wealth creation strategy.


Draft Player Selected by Recruited from
2015 Jacob Weitering Carlton Dandenong Stingrays
2014 Patrick McCartin St Kilda Geelong Falcons
2013 Tom Boyd Greater Western Sydney Eastern Ranges
2012 Lachie Whitfield Greater Western Sydney Dandenong Stingrays
2011 Jonathon Patton Greater Western Sydney Eastern Ranges
2010 David Swallow Gold Coast East Fremantle Football Club
2009 Tom Scully Melbourne Dandenong Stingrays
2008 Jack Watts Melbourne Sandringham Dragons
2007 Matthew Kreuzer Carlton Northern Knights
2006 Bryce Gibbs Carlton Glenelg
2005 Marc Murphy Carlton Oakleigh Chargers
2004 Brett Deledio Richmond Murray Bushrangers
2003 Adam Cooney Western Bulldogs West Adelaide
2002 Brendon Goddard St Kilda Gippsland Power
2001 Luke Hodge Hawthorn Geelong Falcons
2000 Nick Riewoldt St Kilda Southport Sharks
1999 Josh Fraser Collingwood Murray Bushrangers
1998 Des Headland Brisbane Lions Subiaco
1997 Travis Johnstone Melbourne Dandenong Stingrays
1996 Michael Gardiner West Coast Eagles Claremont
1995 Clive Waterhouse Fremantle Port Adelaide Magpies
1994 Jeff White Fremantle Dandenong Stingrays
1993 Darren Gaspar Sydney South Fremantle
1992 Drew Banfield West Coast Eagles Subiaco
1991 John Hutton Brisbane Bears Claremont
1990 Stephen Hooper Geelong East Perth
1989 Anthony Banik Richmond Won Wron Woodside Football Club
1988 Alex McDonald Hawthorn Ballarat YCW
1987 Richard Lounder Richmond Central District
1986 Martin Leslie Brisbane Bears Port Adelaide Magpies
1982 Andrew Purser Footscray East Fremantle
1981 Alan Johnson Melbourne Perth


Read More

Footifying Australia since 2002